Bright light??

michael_foster6

<p>OK, I really feel like a novice here. I shoot a LOT of photos, but they are mostly stage/theatre/dance events with no flash. I also do quite a bit of studio work with strobes. I am using a D2x, SB800 and usually the f2.8 17-55.<br>

My question is shooting outdoors or maybe a wedding with 3 SB800's firing, where there is a lot of light. I took some headshots in bright sunshine with a flash to fill in the shadows. Ideally I would like to shoot at f2.8 to keep the background out of focus. When I do, the highlights always seem to be blown out. I try to use Aperture Priority Mode, f2.8, ISO 100. I have tried dialing the exposure compensation to -3.0 which seems to work a bit. To get a decent picture, I have to got to f5.6 or f8 or higher.<br>

Any suggestions out there? This is a new area for me!</p>

<p>If you really need (for creative purposes) to have that lens wide open in brighter light - and I do understand the urge! - then what you want is an ND (neutral density) filter. Essentially, sunglasses for your lense. You can get them several stops dark, if need be. Of course, it's another layer of glass over your fine lens... so don't scrimp. Get a good one from B+W or Hoya.</p>

<p>Why aren't you just setting the flash to manual and dialing down the power? When you say exposure compensation, do you mean composation on the whole exposure or just the flash? You can set flash compensation separately, you know.<br>

Kent in SD</p>