Booked as a 2nd. Inquiry for a wedding on same date--etiquette?

lauren_s.

<p>Gist of my question: I agreed to be a paid 2nd shooter, and received an inquiry for a wedding on the same date. What is the etiquette here? <br /><br />Overall question: How does one navigate the waters of working as a primary wedding photographer and booking 2nd shooter gigs for the days you do not have booked? What if you are asked to 2nd shoot a wedding 6+ months in advance--when you could potentially book a wedding for much more money? I am new to wedding photography and while I've read lots of advice on how to be a good 2nd shooter <em>at</em> a wedding, I can find very little on the booking etiquette. I understand not backing out of a 2nd shooter gig at the last minute, but what about far in advance? I can see both sides: obviously the primary wants to have another person as back up/assistant/extra set of eyes, and obviously a 2nd shooter would much rather make $2500k rather than $500. <br /><br />Any general advice?</p>

<p>Lauren,</p>

<p>My two cents: If you want to succeed in business (and sleep well at night), don't ask yourself questions like this. This isn't complicated. You agreed to work as second shooter for wedding 1. You agreed, made a commitment. You're booked. End of story.</p>

<p>Some people might say, Why not ask the first shooter about it? You could make it clear that, if it's a problem for the first shooter, you'll absolutely honor your commitment.</p>

<p>And in fact, if I was the first shooter and you came to me with that question, I'd be very nice about it. It probably wouldn't be a big deal for me. There are probably a couple hundred qualified second shooters in the Dallas area who are free that weekend, so I could probably find a replacement. I'd let you out of your commitment. I'd wish you well with your gig.</p>

<p>And I would never hire you again, or recommend you to anybody else.</p>

<p>Good luck.</p>

<p>Will</p>