Body upgrade: what visible IQ-improvement?

sunray1

<p>Ok, so now I bought some good primes (50 1.4, 85 1.4, and soon a 20 2.8), I started shooting RAW in 'M' and subscribed to a photoclass to learn the basics on digital photography from scratch. Next things will be setting up a workflow with my Mac, backup drive and CS4 and save for a tripod and a SB600.<br>

I shoot mostly people (headshots, head/shoulder shots) or (social) events indoors/outdoors and travel/city in available light, sometimes low light (no flash...yet...). Preferably at base ISO (200), but sometimes forced to crank it up to 1600 ISO.</p>

<p>Sooner or later though I feel I want to upgrade from the D70 that I've been using since I bought it new in 2004. I know what I would like to be improved on my next body: bigger/brighter viewfinder and LCD screen and better autofocus, especially with low light. But I'm not exactly sure what more I am missing in the D70, as a tool to take my photography to a higher level.<br>

My next body will be eitehr a D90, D300 or D700. I've read lots of discussions on FX/DX, investing in more good glass etc. etc. but what I want to know for now is what to actually expect from improvement in IQ. What difference will I actually see IQ-wise between RAW-shots (with as little as possible PP) with that new body on a 8x10 print or 100% on a 20" monitor, compared to what I see now with my D70?<br>

Or maybe: what is the real life difference between the 6MP CCD and 'old' processor and the new 12MP CMOS (DX or FX) with the new EXPEED processor when it comes to plain, visible image quality? Colors? Detail? Sharpness? Just RAW, not using Picture Controls or Active D-Lighting etc.<br>

I'm not asking for a buying advice, just your thoughts on the actual difference in IQ, coming from the D70.<br>

Thank you for taking the effort.<br>

Ray</p>