Blurry photos

sam_lundy

I am new to photography other than video and point and shoot and I purchased a

Nikon D300 and the very next day I took it to my sons basketball game using a

Nikon 50mm 1:1.8 lens with an ISO of 800 and got these pictures. What can I do

to resolve this without buying another lens I also have a 18-135 but its slow

3.5. here's a sample of my "work" ha ha.<div>00Nzdr-40946084.thumb.jpg.5e3c59f5e60bdf6728f9132cc27bb032.jpg</div>

You can't shoot basketball with a shutter speed of 1/40th sec. Open your lens aperture up all the way (to f/1.8) and push the shutter speed to at least 1/200th sec and try again. Do a test shot and look at the histogram; if the shot's way underexposed, push the ISO to 1100 or 1600 or higher. Can't remember for sure (I don't have one) but I think the D300 goes higher than 1600 and is supposed to do very well.

You need to read a basic book on photography or take a class. The D300 doesn't have those beginner settings like a "sports" mode so you actually have to learn how to use your camera. The cheaper cameras are actually better for beginners because they have those preset modes.

Your picture was taken in Program mode, ISO 800, f3.2, 1/40s shutter speed. Set the camera to aperture priority mode, f1.8, ISO 1600 (or even 3200 on the D300) and you'll get a much faster shutter speed for freezing action.

Thanks for the info, I actually bought a DVD on the D300 and have watched it 3 times and realize that I need more time behind the lens. I still do not quite understand, the DVD said to shoot action to use shutter priotrity and I did on a few pics and they were very dark so I went back to priority. by the way Walt how did you know what settings I was using?

Sam -

Every image that is shot with a digital camera contains data (hidden from view) regarding the exposure and camera used to make the image. The data is easily viewable in a number of programs including photoshop.