Blank roll with Pentax K1000

laura_manyoki

<p>I've been shooting with my K1000 for the last 6 years (it is a used one from '76). I'm not quite a beginner, but by no means am I experienced and would greatly appreciate any tips and tricks.<br>

I just received my first blank roll ever and have been racking my brain for possible reasons. I got two rolls back from the lab. The first one was great up until the last couple photos which were very dark and had some light leaks, and a couple of blanks. Then my second roll was completely blank.<br>

It's possible that the film slipped/I didn't insert it properly, but I've never had this problem before. Also, if anyone has any tips with knowing if your film slips without opening the back that would be great!<br>

Lastly, my lens has been making a rattling noise recently and I just noticed that the focus ring is slightly detaching from the aperture ring (if that makes any sense at all). Is this the obvious reason for the blank roll? I've been shooting with this rattling noise for quite sometime and haven't had a problem with my photos until now.</p>

<p>Once again, any help would be greatly appreciate!!<br>

Cheers</p>

<p>Film slipping: Usually an issue of loading discipline. Make sure you wind it beyond just the leader, so that the upper sprockets catch perforation too. After closing the camera and doing the recommended blank shots before the first frame you can try to tighten with the rewind crank and feel if it that crank gets turned while you wind towards the first frame.<br>