Black & white filters/techniques

sharon_bussert

I have several years experience in color photography and in darkroom work for black & white. I am interested in getting into shooting my own black and white nature photos. The ones I've done are noticably lacking in drama. Any suggestions on films, filters, ect. that help create more dramatic photos? I'm planning a trip to Ireland and would like to do some work there. Any suggestions specific to that climate are also appreciated!

I doubt you could do much better than to read Ansel Adams series

of books on B&W photography. You might not want (or be able) to emulate his

style, but few people could find fault with his technique!

"Dramatic" is in the eye of the beholder of course. The way to get

"dramatic" dark skies and white clouds is to use a red filter, but there's more to a dramatic

image than a quick technical fix with a filter.

Sharon,

I do a lot of Infrared B+W landscapes. I also use a red filter (25A) with this film. I know this answer is over-simplified, but I personally feel that the key to good B+W photos is to think about those two words, black and white. My biggest success is when the object is either black or white and not muddied by a lot of grey tones. I guess I am talking about images with contrast, so there is no question what the object is. I don't do darkroom, but I have found a printer where I live here in Austin that is an absolute darkroom genius. Good darkroom technique is essential. I see the negative (when printed on the contact sheet) as the rough draft, i.e. all the elements of a good compostion and contrast being there, and the print as the final draft where all the elements of good composition, contrast and darkroom techniques have come together. Good luck.

Erik H. Pronske, M.D.

Austin, TX