black and white in photoshop and digital filters.

<p>Hi!<br>

I'm starting serious black and white again after thirty years. i bought myself a technical camera for this, and yesterday I shot some images with my Olympus PEN to train my eye for black and white. I shot fine JPEG, ISO 100, Canon FD 135mm f/2 at f/2.<br>

I used Photoshop CS6, images, adjustments, black and white and the digital filters that are there.<br>

Color image: </p>

<div>00cihJ-549930084.jpg.328dda41bebad4cc417360f7db2d5910.jpg</div>

<p>Now, I'm not an expert at all at digital black and white.<br>

I think the color bandwidth of the Photoshop color filters is too narrow and you get these effects. <br>

My temporary conclusion is not to use the software filters but to use real glass filters and later convert to black and white without using Photoshop filters.<br>

Now, two months ago, when I made this decision to go for serious black and white again, I almost bought the Sony A7R and a Canon EF 17mm tilt-shift, to go the photoshop filtering method. I decided against it and bought myself a technical camera with a 47mm lens because I decided serious black and white landscape should be shot on black and white film. Imagine how I'd have felt after having bought this $7,000 A7R combo and found out this!<br>

Now, the real question: <br>

Is there a way to do this digital filtering in a good way? So i keep my smooth backgrounds? <br>

Shooting RAW may put more color values than the 256 in a JPEG, that'd depend what the RAW converter makes of it, I think, but I don't know much about this. TIFFs can be saved as 16 bits, Photoshop made to run in 16 bits. Does that mean it works with 16,000 color shades in R, G, B?<br>

Maybe there is software that allows bandwith of color filter to select wider or get narrower?</p>

<p>Bye, </p>

<p>Dirk.</p>

<blockquote>

<p>I think the color bandwidth of the Photoshop color filters is too narrow and you get these effects.</p>

</blockquote>