point of buying a spotting scope. I currently have a Canon EOS ELAN

II with a Tamron 28-300 zoom.

I would welcome comments on the pros and cons of using a scope for

photography since this is a big investment for me. I

am trying to consolidate money spent on birding equipment and

photography equipment.

I am considering a Leica Televid 77 spotting scope. Will purchasing

the newer APO lens with this be worth the huge difference in price

(about $600)in terms of improving the quality of color and resolution?

Or is the general opinion that photography through any scope will be

no better than internet quality no matter which lens is used?

Would also welcome comments on the portability issue of carrying a

scope vs carrying an appropriate camera lens.

I am obviously a novice at this and would appreciate any assistance.

Although I am not a professional photographer, I want more than a

72dpi image from my purchase. However there will be times when I will

be using the scope without a camera and want to be sure I have that

option too.

Thanks all.

You might want to read <a href="http://www.photo.net/bboard/q-and-a-fetch-msg?msg_id=000Yai">this thread</a> and also do a general search on "spotting scope".

<p>

The basic answer is that all spotting scopes suffer from the fact that (a) they are not designed for photography, so their adaptation to photography is usually something of a compromise and (b) they are photographically slow meaning longer shutter speeds hence more problems with vibration or the use of fast film, leading to lower image quality.

<p>

Is the APO worth it? I don't know. My guess is that for photography, given the limitations of spotting scopes as lenses, the answer is likely to be no.

<p>