Best Wide Lens for "Fine Art" Photography

steve_giovinco

Hi,

I've been searching through the Board for hours, but thought I'd post a

question...I'm a fine art photographer showing in galleries and museums and

make 40x50 digital c prints.

I plan on getting a D80 with a slightly wide fixed lens, such as 24, 28 or 30.

The requirements are:

--Small

--Fast

--Affordable (up to $1000)

--Excellent "quality"

--Rich color

My lighting will always be natural (no flash), and will be splilt between

people/self portraits in doors, landscapes, and landscapes at night.

I've read some less than stellar reviews about the 28/2.8 AF-D. My questions:

--What would you recommend and why, please?

--I love the idea of the Sigma 30/1.4, but wonder about the quality?

--Is there a lens that offers more color richness--not necessarily saturation--

that you can recommend?

--Are older manual focus lenses worth looking into?

--Are there some other funky solution I've not thought about, such as using

some other older lens via a conversion kit (I've just briefly read about

this...)?

Thanks in advance for your thoughts!

Regards, Steve

On Nikon DSLR's, the Sigma you mention is not wide-- 45mm equivalent FOV. If this is acceptable to you, I can recommend the lens wholeheartedly. Optical and build quality are superb, in my experience. There may be some sample variation, as you'll find others who harbor a different opinion.

here are some Wides for you,

Nikon 10.5 Fish-Eye

Sigma 10-20mm EX HSM DC ( I own this one and love it)

Nikon 18-70mm DX (Want to exchange mine 18-55mm Dx for it)

Nikon 24mm D AF 2.8

Lots of choices but it all depends on your usage and the amount you are willing to spend

Z

40x50 prints from digital? or 35mm? hanging in galleries and museums?

why are you asking here then? you should know what you need.