Best way to spend $$$$ on Nikon Camera Gear

tony_icuspit

<p>I'm an amateur photographer who likes to take photos of sporting events (football, lacrosse, soccer...) that my son participates in. As a way of helping the teams, I sell the photos and give back the profit. (http://sportsmoments.photoreflect.com)</p>

<p>For equipment, I have a D300 with battery pack, a Nikon <strike>400</strike>300 AFS 4.0, Nikon 180 ED AF 2.8 and a 18-55 AFS 3.5-5.6.</p>

<p>I've saved up some cash enough to purchase a Nikon 70-200 AFS VR II 2.8. Because of the existing equipment that I currently have, I am having second thoughts.</p>

<p>Any advice on how to spend my hard earned money wisely?<br>

Thanks in advance.</p>

<p>Just thinkin'-<br>

... any flashes in your possesion?<br>

The area of lens coverage you are lacking is that 70--300 +/- as you are on the sidelines and lots of close-mid-distant play is occuring in front of you.<br>

Do you find the 180 or 400 lacking for zoom capability? I can't be in your shoes or wallet, but that's what I would ask myself.<br>

Jim</p>

<p>I do also very similar photography as you do. I have two son's playing soccer, and I do take quite a bit of photos of them. I have D700, so I don't have the 1.5 crop factor as you do. I use mostly the old 80-200 AF-D and sometimes 28-70 AF-S from behind / sides of the goal.<br>

I have been thinking of getting 1.4TC for the 80-200, as it is a bit too short if the action is on the far end of the field. With D300 crop factor I think 70-200 would be very useful. Of course, you still would not be able to cover the whole field from one spot, but you would easily cover half of the field.<br>

So, I would say it is not a bad choice at all.</p>

<p>I do feel the lack of zoom capability and the Nikon 70-200 AFS VR II would very well fill that void. Being a zoom lens, would it be as sharp as my Nikon 180 2.8 AF? It is not an AFS but it is sharp.<br>