Best Telephoto for D80?

spencer_steel

Just got a D80 and took the advice posted here - got an 18-70, 18-200, and 50mm

lens. I'd like to have an extreme zoom AF lens for sporting events, etc. and am

wondering what the best way to go is. I'm an absolute novice, but seem to have

picked up that teleconverters are not a great choice, but I don't see much in

Nikon's line past 300mm. All advice is welcome, and price is not a big

consideration, although I don't want to be dragging a ten foot lens around.

Thanks in advance.

Exactly what type of price range are we talking about here, as I see some $5000 to $8000 lenses being recommended here. It is also important to identify exactly what type of photography we are talking about. Even within sports photography, the requirements for shooting soccer are very different from those for basketball.

For a beginner who already has 3 pretty decent lenses, I would suggest getting familiar with what you already have before adding even more lenses.

Thanks for all of the replies; I shouldn't say that price is NO consideration - I've got a high-end prosumer camera, so I'd like to invest less than a grand in the lens if possible. What's best for sports generally with an emphasis on baseball and golf? Autofocus required, of course, and I'd prefer a zoom to a telephoto.

If I get the 80-200 2.8, will it work well if I but the TC-20EII 2x teleconverter or am I better off just buying the 80-400 lens? I don't know enough to know what I can't get with the 18-200 that I already have that the 80-200 will provide. Thanks.

The Nikkor 80-200/2.8 has better IQ and is faster than the 80-400/4.5-5.6 or the 18-200 up to 200mm, but if your intention is to shoot beyond 280mm (attainable with 200mm lens and a 1.4x teleconverter), then the longer zoom would probably be better. Adding a 2x teleconverter wrecks IQ and loses two stops, which would make the already compromised 18-200 unusable.