Best settings for Portrait work

buzz_meade

I'm a beginner with Nikon D50 with the 55-200 & 28-80 lenses. I'm interested

in doing model and portrait work. Besides lowering the ISO to the lowest

setting, are there any other important settings to have on the camera? I feel

like things are still more blurry then they should be. Thank you!

Buzz, if by "blurry" you mean "camera shake", keep in mind that there is rule of thumb that says that you should better not try to hand-hold a lens at a shutter speed less than 1/(focal length). Personally I double or quadruple this number to be on the safe side. Else try a tripod and check that you set your AF focus point correctly.

Generally it couldn't hurt to get a fast (>f/2.8) prime lens for portrait work, like a 50mm or a 85mm as fast as you can afford it (f/1.8, f/1.4 etc).

Buzz,

The best advice I have on portrait photography is to invest in a tripod. There are so many things this can do to make shooting a pleasure and to reduce some of the issues you may be having. A tripod can even make less than exceptional glass tolerable. In addition to a tripod the next item would be a remote shutter release, wireless if within budget. Good glass has no substitute, period. Good lighting - quality and quantity - also have no substitutes. Many tripod also have a bubble level that can ensure your are shooting absolutely vertical or horizontal. Something that is not so easy when shooting in hand.

As a portrait hack I just use the Portrait Mode on my D70 (jpeg FINE Medium). When I first started out I used the 28-80mm f3.3-5.6 and was quite happy with the results.

If and when you become more serious I suggest that you start shooting in RAW and only then look at better glass. Unfortunately you will become hooked and it will become a never ending story.