Best Setting for the Zoo?

emmanuel_tangonan

<p>I am a new Nikon user and just recently bought a Nikon D7100 with a AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR lens. I am new to all the different kinds of setting and effects the camera has, and I was wondering what the best setting was for taking pictures at the zoo of all the animals and my family. I just would like to get the best quality pictures for a day at the zoo with my family. Thank you for your kind consideration. </p>

<p>For someone new to DSLR photography, I would recommend the following.</p>

<ul>

<li>P exposure mode</li>

<li>Auto ISO</li>

<li>Auto White Balance</li>

<li>Standard picture style</li>

<li>AF-S Single Shot Auto Focus</li>

<li>JPEG Fine/Large file size and quality</li>

</ul>

<p>Experienced photographers will use different settings, but this is a good start for beginners.</p>

<p>If you're totally new to cameras in general, or at least non-automatic ones, Dan is right.</p>

<p>If you have a little background in film, etc. then I'd choose to set the ISO yourself, high for dark areas, slow (ISO 100-200) for ordinary light.</p>

<p>If you think the pictures will turn out to be keepers, it would be awfully nice to have RAW files too, but that will require more card storage space than even large JPEGs.</p>

<p>Try to avoid bright sunlight because of the harsh shadows. If you can find open shade, like under a large tree, that would help. Usually an overcasts day is best. Here in Los Angeles, the mornings have been overcast, then the rest of the day is bright sunlight.</p>

<p><em>"Try to avoid bright sunlight because of the harsh shadows"</em></p>

<p>Shadows can be the key to great images, otherwise they can look rather 'flat' Also, you don't always have control of where your subject is, especially at the zoo. In any case, the D7100 and easily handle shadows which can be adjusted as needed in post processing.</p>

<p>I like Dan's setup, but would recommend the following modifications:</p>