Best Retouching Software in your experience

<p>I am a professional photographer and I do lots of senior portraits... and you know how pimply high school seniors are! I seem to spend sooooo much time retouching. In your experience what is the best software for this. I want realistic effects.<br>

I am sure this thread must have been discussed before... so feel free to simply redirect me.<br>

What software do you use? Does it offer a trial use? I need HELP! Thanks</p>

<p>Lindsay Adler</p>

<p>In addition to high end retouching, I also do what I call "production" retouching. For an 8x10 or smaller, your retouching for a senior should only take about 5 minutes per image- from opeing the raw file to saving it ready to print. A simple combination of the healing brush, light cloning, and a soft-light dodge layer should really be all you need for small prints. Larger prints take me more time, but it is only an extended version (more detail) of a regular "production" retouch. Some kids will take more time if their skin is really bad, but your everage senior shouldn't take too long.</p>

<p>If your retouching is taking your time due to volume, I would consider outsourcing or hiring a retoucher, if only seasonal. </p>

<p>Photoshop is the only program I use for this sort of thing. You can download the trial version, but I don't see anyone grasping the full benefits of it if they are unfamiliar with it to begin with. Quick retouching that looks real takes time to learn, but it shouldn't ake long to produce.</p>