Best price for Digital Files?

jolie_dickson

<p>Hi Everyone, I am an independent portrait photographer who is just starting out. I am taking family portraits and pictures for my friends and family. I am using the online site "Smug Mug" to showcase my photos. What is a reasonable price for digital downloads? I know some wonderful photographers in my area who charge an arm and a leg for a photo, so I'd like to be reasonable. Again, I am just starting out, so I don't want to be crazy right out of the gate. Also, I used to do all the editing and just hand over all the photos on a cd. Now that i am uploading to an online site, i can charge for the files. If the customer wants all the pics can I charge extra for the CD? Thanks so much! Any advice would be greatly appreciated.</p>

<p>Jolie</p>

<p>There is generally a reason why people charge an "arm and a leg". Bottom line, they know what it costs to run a viable business and may also recognize the value of the work they do.</p>

<p>The only reason to provide cut rate prices is often because one doesn't understand their costs of doing business--long run things not just immediately pay for dinner this week; they know their work is not up to par; they need to build market share or maybe they desire to serve a less affluent market.</p>