Best Nikon Pre-AI lenses for Nikon DF

iKokomo

I recently got a Nikon DF and I learned that it is the only DSLR that can use unmodified Nikon Pre-AI lenses. I am mainly a portrait photographer.

I do have some manual AI lenses like the 50mm f/1.2, a 28mm, and a 105mm.

I was wondering what the best (reasonably priced, cheaper) Nikon Pre-AI (or even non-AI) lenses that I should look for? I am mainly a portrait photographer.

I would prefer to stick with Nikon branded lenses.

I was wondering what the best (reasonably priced, cheaper) Nikon Pre-AI (or even non-AI) lenses that I should look for?

Old scalloped focus-ring Nikkors in good condition tend to fetch more than later AI versions these days, so there are few bargains to be had.

I got rid of all my pre-Ai lenses many years ago, because quite frankly they weren't very good. Some of the longer telephotos, like the f/4.5 Nikkor Q 300mm, were absolutely terrible, even compared to cheap off-brand alternatives.

Single coatings on the earliest lenses account for some of their failings, leaving very few that can stand comparison with their later multi-coated Ai and Ai-S embodiments.

Some people claim the 'Sonnar' design version of 105mm Nikkor has a superior rendering to its later replacement. I wouldn't know, the f/2.5 Ai-s version that I bought new in the late 1970s seems perfectly OK to me, but I actually prefer the f/1.8 105mm Nikkor that's only available in Ai-S version.

There's a lot of undeserved mystique surrounding some older lenses, and most of it is purely imagined IMO.

• Like 1

P.S. Condition and sample variation count for a lot.

For example: I have two samples of pre-AI 50mm f/2 Nikkor S.C. (multi coated). One has had an obvious bash to the filter ring and shows signs of hard use, while the other is immaculate and near-mint. Yet the near-mint sample is actually slightly less sharp than the beat up one.