Best mode for fast paced action photos on a Canon 20D?

cotsen

I'm new to photography, and I'm trying to figure out the best shooting mode

with a Canon 20D, using a 100-400mm lens while shooting fast paced surfing

shots. Any help on the best mode to use would be much appreciated.

Cullen

Roger Smith,"Shutter priority, drive mode, custom function to separate ae and af."

Ditto. The custom function is CFn-04 set to 1. With that setting, pressing the "*" button starts the AF and IS and pressing the shutter halfway sets the auto-exposure.

My starting point would be AF-Servo and experiment with using just the center AF point or all points. I usually use all points, and start by placing the center AF point on the subject and pressing/holding the "*" button then shoot a number of shots without releasing the "*" button. With very busy backgrounds sometimes it's better to use just the center AF point.

Shoot bursts of at least 2 frames. In AF-servo and continuous shooting mode the Canon algorithm is to take the first frame as soon as the shutter release is pressed, and the subsequent frames when the focus is good. Also, one shot from a burst will be often be much sharper than the others.

Similarly, I'd experiment with IS mode 1 and 2. If you're not panning fast, I've had good luck keeping mode 1 (horiz and vert stabilization), but if you're really panning fast you may need to switch to mode 2 (vert-only stabilization).

If you're trying to freeze the action with the highest shutter-speed possible, you might try Av mode and set the lens to widest aperture that will give you the desired sharpness and/or DOF. Adjust the ISO to get the shutter-speed into the range you want. In that mode, you'll always get the fastest shutter-speed possible.

Alternatively, if you're trying for motion-blurred effects, you might switch to Av and set the shutter-speed to whatever (slow) setting gives you the desired blurring.