Best memory card for XTi? other accessory advice?

inkygirl

So after much research (thanks to Photo.net experts for your feedback!), I'm

going to buy my first SLR and lens tomorrow: Rebel XTi, Sigma 30/1.4 lens, and

possibly a cheaper more general lens as a backup.

Does anyone have advice about what kind of memory cards to get? Also any other

accessories I'll need? (please keep in mind that I'm an SLR newbie) Money is

obviously an issue, but I figure it would be good to have a shopping list for

future reference as well.

I am SO excited! I've been using a Canon point-and-shoot for many years.

Thanks again,

Debbie

Any big name brand Sandisk, Kigston etc will do, stay away from cheap ebay deals - they are probably fake and won't work too well.

faster cards are only really a benefit if you use a high speed card reader to download your pics to a PC.

look to get at least 2Gb to begin with.

As for other accessories the list could be endless!

bag, tripod, remote release, filters, lens hoods....

Hmm...I've got the Sandisk Xtreme III. As far as size goes, maybe aim for two 1GB cards instead of 1 2GB (for instance)? This way you have a spare in case one fails, will only lose half your photos in the case of a failure, and photos are easier to navigate on-camera (plus having less space generally forces you to take better photographs).

The cheapest and most important accessory you'll need is a UV filter for your lens - it's just a little screw-on piece of glass that protects your lens from damage and dirt.

maybe a battery grip. i love mine! allows for twice as long shooting time. balances the camera well. looks more professional. allows great grip for vertical shots as well. and of course with this you will want an extra battery since it holds two. who wouldn't want an extra battery anyway?

I use only the cheapest CF cards -- no problems so far. They are probably made all in the same factory anyway.