best low budget light meter?

Hello all,

I recently acquired a Kiev 60 medium format system from Hartblei to give medium

format a try. It came with a TTL metering system that for lack of better words,

is a worthless, overpriced, piece of crap. This is a really fun camera to shoot

with, I have some beautiful glass for it (30mm Arsat fish eye) but I hardly ever

use it as I need to also carry my digital kit in order to accurately meter for

it. The only simple answer is to pick up a hand-held light meter.

Now before someone tells me I need the newest Sennheiser Ferarri to plug into

the studio strobes that I don't have (or care to have for that matter), let me

tell you, I am a starving college student who cannot afford bells and whistles.

I would be plenty happy with an ambient light meter or a simple spot meter.

Everywhere I look I only find references to the lobster meters - when I go on

Ebay, I have a hard time distinguishing practical, simple meters from dinosaurs

that are probably best treated as bookshelf relics. If I need to do anything

technical, I have a comprehensive digital kit that I will always use.

Yes, I simply need a solid, basic light meter - spot or ambient that fits nicely

in my pocket and most importantly, in my meager budget.

Any suggestions?

Thanks and

cheers,

Jonathan

A good used Minolta Auto Meter IIIF shouldn't cost too much. Mine was battered with the head dangling by the wires when I bought it for five bucks. Ten years later, still working fine. It's a good incident, non-selective reflective (not spot) and flash meter. Don't count on finding one for five bucks tho'.