Best Lenses for Museum Photography?

kyle_long2

I'm no expert but a couple ideas come to mind. As far as statues and busts go I wouold think a short telephoto with big aperture, same as you would use for portraits, something like the excellent EF85mm f/1.8. This would be good for paintings too if you could stand 12 or so feet away. Any closer and maybe use the 50mm lens. Larger museum items such as murals might need one of the perspective control lenses. If the museum will let you a tripod or monopod would be very helpful as the lighting might necessitate a longer exposure than outdoors. And finally, since the subject will be stationary, a lens with image stabilization such as the 17-85 or 24-105 will work well and get you shutter speeds down to 1/15-1/30th. Bob.

Well, since flashes and tripods are usually not allowed (and are annoying to other visitors

even if not explicitly banned), fast lenses are important.

Other than that, it depends upon what you will be photographing in the museums. Some

things will require close focus distance, others a long reach, and still others a wide view.

For paintings, pick a lens with very low distortion.

If you want one "museum lens," maybe a fast 24-70, 28-75, or similar would be good for

film with an 18-50 2.8 like Sigma's for 1.6x digital. You won't get low distortion that way,

though. For that, maybe you should look at the Canon 50mm macro?

Give us some more details on what you'll be shooting.

Kyle,

In my limited experiences, many Museums and Art Gallery's will not allow the use of a Flash, so you may be restricted to available light, which dictates the use of a fast prime lens with a large aperture (1.2, 1.4, 1.8 etc.)and the use of a good stable tripod.

Some will even limit the use of a tripod because of the possibility of someone in the crowd tripping over it.

When I visit a Museum and anticipate doing some inside photography, I will usually try to visit on the "off peak" days and hours.