Best lens for taking gymnastics pictures

<p>I have a Canon Rebel XTi and I need help finding the best lens for taking pictures of gymnastics where you cannot use a flash. I am not a professional so I am not close which means I also need a pretty good zoom. Currently I am just using the 55-200mm f1:4.5-5.6 lens which zooms well but does not take good low light pictures. I am just taking pictures of my daughter but would really like to be able to get good pictures. I need to keep the price reasonable too since this is just recreational photography. Thanks for any help you can offer. </p>

<p>Consider raising the camera's ISO. You'd likely need a lens that is 2.8 or faster. However, if you chose a zoom, that will be expensive.</p>

<p>Consider a 50MM 1.8. Not a zoom... but lets lots of light through.</p>

<p>Also check to see if all the lights are on in the gymnastics gym. I've been to indoor sports events where they only had on half the lights. After asking an employee to turn on more lights, pictures came out better.</p>

<p>Fast + telephoto + cheap is just not available.</p>

<p>If you could make do with 100mm, you could get a 100mm f/2. It's an excellent lens, very fast, runs around $500. If you were sitting near the front it could work. From about 55 feet away, it would frame a 12x8 foot area with an XTi. From farther away you'd probably be cropping.</p>

<p>You can go longer and stay fairly fast, but it quickly gets extremely expensive. Next lenses out would be 135mm f/2 ($1000), 200mm f/2.8 ($800), 70-200mm f/2.8 ($1400); past those are multi-thousand-dollar lenses like 200mm f/2, 300mm f/2.8, 400mm f/2.8.</p>

<p>If you only shoot the pictures occasionally, you might look at renting a lens.</p>

<p>100 f/2 or the 135L<br>

Depending on distance you <em>might</em> be able to squeak by with the 85 1.8</p>

<p>Some of those gyms are real tough so you will need to be shooting at 1600 I'm betting.</p>

<p>100 f/2 or the 135L<br>