Best lens for product photography in studio conditions (for D90)

aloha_voya

<p>hi fellow shutterbugs</p>

<p>I am kind of new to semi-pro equipment and setup so wanted to run a few questions by the more experienced folks so I don't low my budget on inappropriate equipment.</p>

<p>I am planning to get D90 to shoot our company's products in the studio (homemade equivalent of the bench top kind of www.kaiser-fototechnik.de) so now I ponder the lens selection. I have read some articles by ken rockwell on his site and he seems to be happy with versatility and quality of 18-200mm VR (I or II) lenses and has me almost convinced that this lens would be a good chioice for my needs.<br>

the products vary in size and are mainly bathroom fittings and fixtures - showers, sinks, faucets ... close up here and there.<br>

I have the luxury of space and will make most of the lighting on my own per instructions from Dean Collins' tinkertubes book and similar DIY internet resources.</p>

<p>questions:<br>

1.) what would be the most appropriate lens for this application<br>

2.) I would prefer to get one flexible solution (lens) and master it - instead of adding layers of complexity, cost and pushing the learning curve and results further out with multiple lenses.<br>

3.) it would be grand to have a lens which would also serve in capacity of taking photos of family, vacations ... kind of jack of all trades. not a key requirement but a nice bonus so to speak.</p>

<p>I am not set on a particular kind of lens so please feel free to chime in with suggestions which have been proven in practice (preferably)</p>

<p>any input and/or suggestions would be welcomed!</p>

<p>thanks!</p>