best lens for hospital delivery room/OR

kelly_cash

<p>I have a Canon xTi, a Canon 85mm, a Canon 55-250mm, and the kit lens. I am the only person in our family who knows very much about photography (and I am only a novice at best). I tend to be responsible for all family events. Since I will be the one having a baby, I am going to have to depend on someone else (ACK). My husband is not the best photographer. He tends to over think every photo and because of that may get 2 or 3 photos of an entire event. I would hire a professional, however, I am quite certain this will be a c-section and only the spouse is allowed in the OR. I don't want to give up on good pictures of one of the most important days of my life though so it's the hubby or nothing. :)<br>

I feel quite certain my 85, which would get the best shots, wouldn't work in tight spaces. I definitely don't want him using the kit lens, and the 55-250 wouldn't work good in lower light (or tight spaces). <br>

I am willing to buy or rent a better lens to ensure the best shots possible. Does anyone know of a good lens that is foolproof (LOL, poor hubby), short range enough in case the OR is tight, but still good in low/hospital light? <br>

Thanks,<br>

Kelly</p>

• Replies 62
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

<p>Congratulations!<br>

The Baby I mean, not the Hubby! It does help to have both though! He may very well end up "passed out" on the delivery room/OR floor! Maybe one of the staff will grab the xTi and get a shot of that as well!<br>

Only kidding!</p>

<p>The 85mm may be a little long and the 55-250 and kit lens probably not very good in low light or room lighting. I don't know if you will be able to use any flash in the delivery/OR.</p>

<p>I would suggest the Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 AF SP XR Di II LD IF, with or without the "VC" or Image Stabilization.</p>

<p>As the "Hubby" is not the Family Photographer, consider setting the xTi on one of the "auto" modes and let him "fire away."</p>