Best Gimbal for Sony a7c

sunnyindy

I'm planning to purchase Sony a7c soon and start shooting video in addition to nature/landscape photography. I've been shooting with Canon's full frame DSLR for 10+ years, and I'm happy with the image quality. However, the lightweight full frame mirrorless sounds good for backpacking and challenging hikes... yes, I'm getting older. Since I'm a beginner for video shooting, I've been researching additional equipment.

I'm looking for a light weight gimbal, preferably table top tripod option, and Arca-Swiss type quick release. Any recommendations?

I also wonder if L-bracket on camera can attach to Gimbal without switching the plate?

Thank you so much!!

Really Right Stuff has an excellent range of strong yet lightweight tripods, including a tabletop version (which I wouldn't recommend for field use, unless you carry a suitable, self-leveling table). The also have several choices in camera gimbals. All RRS equipment revolves around Arca type clamps and plates. I recommend using a gimbal with a leveling platform rather than as an attachment to a conventional head. While a (ball) head is convenient for leveling the gimbal, it's more weight and less stability, due to the added height.

An RRS gimbal can be used effectively for both still photography and video. One RRS gimbal has adjustable fluid drag. Since Arca type clamps are used, an L-plate lets you mount the camera horizontally or vertically. Horizontal is best for video, unless you are targeting social media viewers. (Even then, I resist the temptation.)

I didn't say they were cheap, but they are effective, reliable and made to last many years. These are good attributes for use in the boonies. All their metal parts are machined from bar stock, not castings.