Best free post processing program for beginner?

tcyin

I gave one of my old digital cameras to my grandson (age 13) who expressed an interest in learning photography. He is basically a complete novice, having taken only photos on an Ipad and on his phone.What is a good post-processing program for him to download so he can do some elementary edits to his photos? I think for now, the simpler and more straight-forward, the better. He can learn the bells and whistles later once he is comfortable with the basics.

I use Google Picasa. Easy and fast to use, and handles 90% of what I want.

But Google dropped support for Picasa a long time ago, so you might have to search to find it.

I only use it for the basic stuff: leveling the picture, adjusting the exposure, and cropping.

I'm sure there are other easy to use programs out there.

• Like 1

If you want the full PhotoShop-like toolkit, then GIMP (GNU Image Manipulation Program) is the way to go.

A 13 year old will probably pick up all it's facilities in no time. Like a kid in a sweetshop.... or a kid in a PhotoShop.

Edited by rodeo_joe|1
  • Like 2

Many people share photos from their phones on social media (notably Instagram) or via photo-sharing sites. So many mobile 'sharing apps' have built-in or add-on editing & filter features.

Kids of your grandson's age seem to feel more comfortable using mobile apps than W10. And these days, mobile phone screens can be 'cast' to wide screen HD TV screens. so the small screen on a mobile phone is less of a limiting factor for photo-editing than it used to be.