Best DSLR for black and white

<p>Hello,<br>

I am in the process of choosing a DSLR to purchase; I'm just an amateur, but I would be doing a fair amount of black and white. Are there DSLRs that do a better job at black and white than others? I'm assuming dynamic range is an important aspect to consider, but is there anything else I should be thinking of? I do also own a Fuji 6x7 and a Ricoh Diacord. My max price is probably around 1k.</p>

<p>Thanks</p>

<p>In most (maybe all) cases, you can get better B&W pictures by taking color pictures and turning them to B&W in the digital darkroom, than you can by using a B&W mode on the camera. Therefore, I would not choose a DSLR based on some supposed advantage with its built-in B&W options. I would just get the DSLR that seems best to you, given your existing lens collection (if any), uses (about which we know nothing), and budget (is the $1k just for the body, or do you expect to get one or more lenses with that?).</p>

<p>There are a ton of threads (mostly in the Digital Darkroom forum) about techniques and specialized software for converting color to B&W. Indeed, there are whole books on the subject. And of course how you print is a significant issue too.</p>

<p>Black and white results are more specific to your post-processing skills than what camera you use. (BTW, my own experience is that this is also more true when using film.) You need to learn how to take a digital file and get the kind of black and white you want with the tools that work best for you. I happen to use Silver Efex Pro, which I find more intuitive, more versatile and more feature-rich than any techniques using only the Adobe tools. I can't think of a single digital camera characteristic other than noise (if you shoot at higher ISO) that will show a significant difference between cameras with converted black and white.</p>