Best Computer Monitors for Photographers

<p>I'm in the process of upgrading my external 20 inch Dell Monitor which is like a 1st generation monitor from the 2oth century!!!!<br>

I am wondering whether some of you professional photographers could please share your point of view for the best 24 to 30 inch monitors in the market for photography without needing to mortgage my house. I am not a professional photographer but spend endless hours of taking pictures and editing them with Adobe Photoshop. By the way, my PC is a year old high-end Dell laptop.<br>

I thank you very much in advance...</p>

<p>Best in terms of its ability to provide good color matching (calibrated) and with a lack of banding? I'd go with a high bit smart monitor like the NEC 2490, 2690 or 3090 driven using their SpectraView II software and supported colorimeter or Spectrophotometer. The 2490 is an sRGB like display, the other two are wide gamut (closely approaching the gamut of Adobe RGB (1998)). All adjustments for calibration are conducted inside the panel in high bit to reduce banding. All calibration is produced using the display panel electronics mated to the proprietary software. You can build a suite of calibration targets (like one that's got a lower contrast ratio for matt papers or even news print, higher for gloss printing), then switch the calibration and associated profile "on the fly". For those on a budget, NEC has a lower quality panel without some of the internal features like ColorComp in their P22W unit. I'm quite happy with my 2690 and 3090 units. Closest do the old Sony Artisan I've still got hanging around here in terms of being a smart monitor (set the software, put the puck on screen and walk away).</p>

Author “Color Management for Photographers" & "Photoshop CC Color Management" (pluralsight.com)