Best brand/type of CD or DVD for storing photos.

Hello, I am rather new to digital. I need to buy some cds or dvds to back-up photos and was wondering if there is a

certain type or brand which lasts longer. I did a search on this but most all the results were at least a year or more

old. I don't know, maybe things have changed since then. Any help would be greatly appreciated. :)

As above, or MAM-A. If your photo files are small(JPEG), then CD's may be adequate. DVDs, whose manufacturers claim less

archival life(100 vs. 200 years under ideal simulated test conditions)) hold almost 5 times the info as CDs, so if you have a lot of

large files(RAW) then DVDs are nicer. If you shoot a lot(working pro, etc.) then even DVDs are impractical...they just don't hold

enough data. Also Verbatim sells some DVDs as 'Photo Archive Gold' or some such. The Delkin gold ones appear to be

repackaged MAM-A or Verbatims at an increased cost. Interestingly, the Sony CD-Rs for my car stereo, many of which were made

in 2003, and stored IN THE CAR, still play fine. I figure they'll all be obsolete in 10 years, easily. AND...they'll all eventually be thrown away or

[hopefully] recycled.

Between photography and studio recording, I go through thousands of CD's and DVD's a year. The discs I recommend work reliably. For security, my recordings are verified (file comparisons) subjected to routine error checks.