Best Book For Digital Camera D-SLR Beginner

vincent_daly

Understanding Exposure by Bryan Peterson

Learning to See Creatively by Bryan Peterson

Nikon D80 Magic Lantern Guides (book or DVD)

I would read these 3 and then you could choose from a host of other books on varying subjects.

The Thom Hogan e-books are terrific but really are guides to using a specific camera and not a book on photographic technique. I found "Understanding Exposure, Revised Edition" by Bryan Peterson, Amphoto books (you can get it locally or on Amazon.com) to be enormously informative and practical. It has chapters on the effects of aperture and shutter speed selection, tips on lighting angles and times of day for different effects, and special techniques (examples are shutter speeds to use for moving water and car headlight/taillight streaks). At less than $20 this is a course in photography in under 160 pages. I'm an amateur and have been shooting film for decades and recently switched to a DSLR and learned a lot from this book, but I believe it would help newcomers as well given its thorough and step-by-step approach. Peterson's written several other books which I'm reading but this is the one to start with in my opinion. Happy learning!

Check out Scott Kelby's Book, "The Digital Photography Book." A very good, concise, book for beginning as well as advanced amateurs. He writes the book in a way it seems he's answering questions as if you're standing there. Mr Kelby is a Photoshop afficiando and a great photographer as well.

I've read about 20 books on digital photography in the past three or four months and one that I like is The D200 Digital Field Guild, there is one for the D80 as well...It's a hands on learn by doing style book which I like given my Chemical Engineering background...

http://www.amazon.com/Nikon-D80-Digital-Field-Guide/dp/0470120517/ref=pd_bbs_sr_3/002-7882762-4232819?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1178683725&sr=8-3