Best 6x9 view camera?

brandan

<p>Hello:<br>

I am considering going a step further from my Mamiya super 23 and getting one view field camera in order to control more the results of my photos.<br>

As I am new to this world and the brands vary a lot from medium format, I feel overwhelmed. So maybe you can suggest a model to me. I am planning to do full body portraits and almost-macro photography (landscape will be marginal). I dont mind buying second hand, and I dont have much money. By the way i own a nikon coolscan 9000ed, so i can scan the shots myself, thats why i am not considering diving into 4x5.<br>

Other question that comes to my mind is that if is better to buy a 4x5 camera and a 6x9 adapter+6x9 back or to stick to a 6x9 camera.<br>

So, what do you think is the cheapest decent camera I should buy?<br>

After reading a bit I thought about a <a href="http://www.shen-hao.com/TFC69Aen.html">Shen-Hao TFC69A</a><br>

Thanks in advance to everyone.<br>

Brandán<br>

http://www.brandangomez.com</p>

<p>I use a Cambo 23SF. It's a wonderfull and precise camera. Cambo has made a number of 6x9 view cameras. Their current offering is a digital based one. Backs and boards interchange with the 23SF.</p>

<p>Arca Swiss also made 6x9 cameras.</p>

<p>I used a Galvin 6x9 in the 80's. I found it flimsy and much prefer my Cambo.</p>

<p>Budget, Brandan? "I dont have much money" suggests that anything new or nice is out of your range. </p>

<p>How long can you wait for a used camera to turn up? Affordable used 2x3 view cameras, e.g., the Galvin that Tony didn't like and that I didn't buy when I had the chance, don't come to market that often. Older Cambos and Plaubels are scarce too.</p>