Beseler 45M Lens Question

ben_hutcherson

I'm finally more-or-less finishing out my 4x5 kit, and have made an arrangement to buy a Beseler 45M.

This isn't the enlarger I WANTED, but at the same time it became available locally(the single biggest consideration), was a reasonable price, and the manual seems to indicate that it's a basically just a larger version of the 23C that I've been using for a couple of years.

The enlarger is coming with two lenses-a 50mm Schneider that will likely get repurposed onto my Focomat V35(I don't have the 40mm lens for that enlarger, and I'll see if it's any better or more importantly to me matches the focus cam better than the El-Nikkor on it now), and an "Eldeet" 135mm f/4.5.

I have always followed the general rule of thumb of an enlarger lens that one should pick a lens that's ABOUT a standard lens for the format. I use 50mm for 35mm, and 75mm for medium format(which admittedly seems a bit short, but works fine for 6x7). That would also translate in my mind to 150mm for 4x5.

In reading the manual for this enlarger, it lists 6 3/8"(163mm) for 4x5, but lists 5 3/8"(~135mm) as an alternate focal length. It also goes on to state that 135mm will give up to 5x magnification(which should allow 20x24 by my math, using the typical enlarger convention of magnification ratios referring to an increase in one dimension) while 150mm gives 3.5x(I'm assuming these are max at the baseboard, and that your darkroom/wall is your limit you want to turn the head and do wall projection). I don't see a lot of 20x24 prints in my future, but at the same time in my book it's kind of pointless to spend the time and money on 4x5 when I can get a perfectly good 16x20 from 6x7.

With all of that said, though, I also see a note about how a 5 3/8" lens can cause vignetting with 4x5 under "some conditions." Is this a serious concern, and if so can it be compensated by stopping down or other tricks?