Bergger and PMK

I am very new to B&W and I am enjoying it a lot. I am shooting

4x5 bergger at asa 100 and developing in PMK pyro at 80

degrees (in the shade) for 7 minutes. I meter from the shadows

and put them in zone II and highlights fall in VIII. What I get is

unexposed shadows and wonderful midtones and highlights.

Sometimes I overexpose 2 stops and I bearly get detail in the

shadows. Should I rate Bergger even slower than 100. Should I

get my Luna-Pro F checked for calibration? Or should I try Ilford

FP4 plus (Which is already in my mailbox) and see what toe and

shoulder would do for me? I appreciate any comments. Thanks

Christian

I give Bergger BRF 200 (the roll film version, rated EI 100) 7.5 minutes at 80 degrees in PMK. However, my understanding of Zone II is that it is just perceptably different in value from Zone I (pure black), but that you will not see real detail until Zone III. I have always metered shadows and placed them on Zone III. So, I think you have effectively underexposed the shadows by one stop.

With all deference to Ed (who BTW has a great site, all here should look at it for wonderful information!) I think Zone III is still too dark to get nice rich shadows with detail. I know, I know, Ansel Adams in his books said this, but try placing shadows in Zone IV and you will see the difference.

There is no question that Zone III is too dense for open shadow detail. I think that when people read that shadow should be placed on zone III what they are missing is that the texts are referring to the deepest darkest shadow areas. Not open shadow as you would finder under a tree.

Placing shaded shadow areas in Zone IV will produce wonderful open shadow areas.

I think that it was Bruce Berenbaum who suggested this in an issue of Phototechniques some years ago.

Mike

Thanks a lot for your suggestions. My negatives are showing

more info all the way from the bottom to the top. I thought that