beginning in large format, help needed

andrew_felger

hello, i just joined this forum and am a young and new large format

photographer. i am attracted to the idea of walking, finding a

scene, taking a long time to set it up and taking a quality foto.

for a long time i was a 35mm photographer, and in the search for a

new 35mm AF techycamera i realized all that stuff isnt for me.

I do not yet have a camera and have been searching for a good used

field camera, but dont really know where to start. my interests are

mainly landscape, nature, and macro photography. i want a

portable "backpacking" style camera to take into the field on

extended trips with me. cost is an issue and a maximum of $2000

dollars is a limit for camera, backs, lenses, the whole deal.

if anyone has any tips or suggestions on cameras and lenses

(especially in the macro area [is macro possible in large format??]),

i would be exceptionally grateful. i am open to 4x5 to 8x10 size,

depending on suggestions of more experienced users. i would like to

blow up all my photos, but cost, weight, size, portability, etc. are

all issues in addition to quality of prints.

if anyone has any suggestions of meters, i have never used one.

if anyone knows any good books or websites other than this one,

please let me know.

mainly i am looking to acquire a camera and acecssories before

returning to asia in two months for a job, so that is my priority. i

have checked ebay and numerous other sites on the web, but have no

way of telling if the cameras i see are what i want.

thanks for you help.

andrew felger

I've recently made the move to a 4x5 field camera. I was able to find most of the

information I needed in a couple of places. This is one of them.

At the bottom of the current posts you will see older posts sorted by topic. This is a

great source of information. The other great place is http://

www.largeformatphotography.info/ There is a great 'round-up' of used cameras that