Beginner's Portfolio - What size photo's?

jean melissa

All,

I am looking to build a portfolio to demonstrate my work. I am a beginner in

the field, but would like to start off on the right foot in a low-key manner.

Any recommendations on the following would be greatly appreciated:

* actual portofolios/binders (brand, size, etc.),

* what size photographs to include in the portfolio,

* what info to include (date, shutter speed, aperture - or is this overkill)?

Also, do I need model release forms for the photographs in my portfolio if I am

not distributing them - but just showing them?

I would be showing the portfolio to local businesses and individuals to market

my skills and provide them examples of what work I could do for them.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Jeannie

I'd highly recommend the book "The Perfect Portfolio" by Henrietta Brackmann.

http://www.amazon.com/Perfect-Portfolio-Henrietta-Brackman/dp/0817454012/sr=8-1/qid=1158336653/ref=pd_bbs_1/104-4134408-5199924?ie=UTF8&s=books

AFAIK, you need model release if you will have actual commercial use of the photograph. Showing them around for publicity doesn't require a model release. But then I'm as good a legal expert as I am an astronaut :) so check with others too.

Jeannie,

There are many personnal preferences when it comes to portfolios but there aren't many strict guidelines that "must" absolutely be followed.

Generally, you want to keep it... clean, simple, without distractions, and easy to go through. A portfolio is about the photograph. So if you see binders with logos, strong colors, or distractions, it's not usually recommended.