Beginner safari photography with D3200 - What else will I need?

rebeccahughes

Hi all,

I'm a complete beginner going on safari in a few weeks time with my D3200 and I'd appreciate some advice on what other equipment I'll need. I have the 18-55 lens that came with the camera and it took some lovely photos on my trip to India so I'm happy to stick with that. However, I believe that's only really suitable for wide to mid distance shots, so I'm assuming I'll probably need something like a 55-300 or 70-300 for close ups of the animals? I'm also not sure whether it's worth investing in a second body (D3200 or similar so I don't have to learn how to use a new camera), either through hiring a body or buying one second hand, but my budget is only up to £500 so I don't know how to prioritise. I'm also unsure about whether I'll need petal/solid hoods and whether a wide angle or telephoto lens would be useful for a beginner such as myself who just wants some nice in-focus shots for the wall and will likely only really be using the automatic settings (awful, I know) as I'm unsure of how to use any manual settings.

Any advice would be much appreciated

Hi Rebecca

I don’t think a second body would be required, but you will definitely benefit from something longer, as you say, the 55-300 or 70-300. If you can fill the frame with your current lens, your’e too close to the Lions!!