Beginner Nikon D80 "basic" equipment needed or ready to go ?

calvin_choy

Hi everyone,

I have been trolling in this forum for a couple of days, looking what DSLR to

buy. After a lot of reading and comparison I have decided to get the Nikon D80.

I am a total beginner with DSLR camera's and hope the Nikon D80 fits me well, I

expect it will give me enough room to expand if I know more about DSLRs, please

correct me if im wrong with my choice.

Another problem that I face now is determining what the minimum tools are that I

need for my camera. I see lots of posts about bags, dust, lens protection,

cleaning of the camera lenses etc. It kinda scares me of to purchase my camera,

gives me a feeling that i will hurt my camera easily since i dont know much

about how to maintain a DSLR.

I would like to have some suggestion/recommendations that I should take into

account or figure out before i start getting the camera and start shooting . . I

will probably go to a store and get the Nikon D80 kit with the default lens.

I think most of my interest will go to portraits and nature photography, will

the default lens be enough to keep me going ? What points should i really take

into consider regarding equipment for traveling and maintaining the camera ? I

live in europe and planning to go to asia this summer, anything i need to know

regarding the differneces in huminity and temperature ?

Hope I am not asking too much, any comment is a big help since I am starting

from scratch :)

Thank You

Try and get the 18-70 instead of the 18-55 and you'll be happier. It is a lens that

EVERYBODY seems to think is excellent, whereas the 18-55 (still a good lens,

you'll probably like it) and the 18-135 don't get as much of a unanimous vote of

approval. The 18-200 is overkill for you, the 16-85 might be, too.

Other than the body, lens and a bag to hold it in, I recommend buying NOTHING

right away other than the camera and the lens. After reading the manual, learning the