Hello my name is Jazlyn, I am just beginning my film photography experience and I wanted to inquire more about ISO settings. I want to know how the different speeds of ISO effect the camera and the time of day to take pictures. Would a slower ISO of 100 or 200 allow for better bright day shooting and thus give me more flexibility in getting a blurred background at a open aperture and fast shutter speed? Thank you for your time and all responses are greatly appreciated!

. . . I am just beginning my film photography experience . . . Would a slower ISO of 100 or 200 allow for better bright day shooting and thus give me more flexibility in getting a blurred background at a open aperture and fast shutter speed?

Yes.

Film rated at ISO100 will typically allow this broad range of Apertures and Shutter Speeds to be used for a front Sunlit Subject:

F/16 @ 1/100s to F/2.8 @ 1/3200s

Film rated at ISO200 will typically allow this broad range of Apertures and Shutter Speeds to be used for a front Sunlit Subject:

F/16 @ 1/200s to F/4 @ 1/3200s

Note that you need to consider the fastest Shutter Speed your camera allows and if you want to use Apertures larger than about F/4~F/2.8 (for really shallow DoF), then you'll need to use a Neutral Density Filter - OR - you'll need RATE the ISO100/200 Film at a lower ISO and then PULL the negative processing to accommodate that change in ISO. Or (obviously) use a slower Film Stock, e.g. ISO50 if that is available.

WW

The lower the ISO rating for the film the more light that has to reach the film to expose it either by longer shutter times or wider apertures or both.

The higher the ISO rating of the film the less light that to reach the film to properly expose it either by smaller apertures or faster shutter speeds.

The Sunny 16 rule basically stated that a shutter speed of 1/film speed at f16 will give an accurate exposure.