Beginner Film Photography Help: Blank Shots!

mikaonfilm

Hello, I’m a beginner at film photography. I just got my 3 rolls developed and I have numerous blank shots (either all black or white-beige ish in color, some have street lights on it). I guess this is an issue regarding the exposure of the camera? I am not really fond of the photography terms yet. I’m using a canon slr camera, the auto ones so i’m on auto mode whenever i shoot since i dont know how to play with the settings yet. I believe my ISO is either 320-400 all through out. But the worse from my experience is when I tried the Fujifilm disposable camera. I think more than 10 shots were just pitch black and most of the photos were underexposed even thogh I used the flash.

Can someone give me how to avoid it? I’m really confused. What is the recommended ISO? When to use or not to use the flash? Any other settings to change? Thank you so much,

First of all, it's unsurprising that you had a bunch of blank shots on a disposable. Typically, those are set up with only one exposure setting, and anything that's either not bright enough or too far away for the flash to reach will be blank.

As far as your ISO setting-film has a fixed ISO speed depending on the film type. It should be prominently marked on the box and on the film canister also. If you know film and a particular film/camera combination well, you might deviate from this marked value but in the begging I'd STRONGLY encourage you to only use the marked ISO setting. If you read the instruction manual for your camera, it should have a setting for "DX Coding". This is a type of electrical coding built into most 35mm film cannisters(everything you'll encounter from Kodak, Ilford, and Fuji) and it's probably best for now if you just set your camera to this and forget about the film speed setting.

As a good starting film, I'd suggest Fuji Superia 400, although Kodak Gold 400 is also good.