Beginner advice on B&W inkjet printing

I am a relative beginner to photography. However since the advent of

affordable digital slrs, I have become a fanatic!

I am moving away from colour printing in favour of Black and white

prinitng.

I currently use a canon i9950 printer. Colour is fantastic, B&W is

rubbish!

Can anyone out there advise on what I can do to get decent B&W prints

Many thanks

Matt

Matt,

Just some useful, basic ideas.

1) Begin with a high resolution, quality image.

2) Have your monitor well calibrated.

3) Use Photoshop (or another tool) and learn how to use its Curves feature.

4) Select the correct ink for your paper choice.

5) Begin to explore RIPs like QuadToneRip/ImagePrint to get a fine output.

Chuck

There are 3 basic approaches to B&W from an inkjet printer.

1) Print using all 6 or 7 inks including the color inks. Smooth tones, but often color casts.

1a) For Epson printers, there are specialized RIPs (printing software) that can do a nice job neutralizing the colors, even using the color inks. I don't know if any are Canon-compatible.

2) Use just the black ink(s) - usually an option in the page setup/printer driver options (but I'm not familiar with the Canon's options in this regard). More visible dots, somewhat harsher contrasts, but no color shifts from light to dark areas.

3) Dedicate the printer to B&W printing and use special 3rd-party monochrome inks that substitute medium/light gray inks for the colored inks. The tonality of 1), the neutral color of 2) - but you need to buy a second printer to do color easily and interchangeably, since changing from one inkset to the other requires extensive clearing of the ink channels.

Perfectionists tends towards 3), especially for prints from larger-format film images. I use 2), which works very nicely for 35mm scans and digicam prints, but is a bit rugged-looking for MF/4x5 shots.