Begginer, looking to buy a LF camera

andrew_gale

<p>Recently I traded a 35mm camera for a Beseler 45 enlarger. Now I need the 4x5 camera in order to utilize it.<br>

My question is fairly simple, which 4x5 camera would be good (cheap) for a broke college student, provide the quality one would expect from large format, and be fairly light and portable?<br>

I seriously doubt I can afford anything new, but would be interested in hearing feedback about the cheapest new 4x5 cameras avalible.</p>

<p>I'd reccomend looking on ebay, or locally on Craigslist for an old Speed Graphic or some similar incarnation. I'm a broke college student and that's what I did. Eventually you'll want a more modern lens than what is offered on those cameras (my Kodak Ektar didn't have any corner sharpness) but it'll get you started!</p>

<p>-a</p>

<p>Got a useable average to average plus Calumet with 16" rail for $75 plus shipping. Various lens boards included and compendium lens shade included.</p>

<p>The best portables are folding field cameras, perhaps $600 up and 600 won`t get you a good one.</p>

<p>Quality is all in the lens as long as the camera is sturdy and light tight and on a sturdy tripod. Old lenses do not compare to new lenses. There are decent 35mm older lenses, but no LF 1960 lenses compare to modern multicoated LF lenses from 1980 and newer.</p>

<p>The key is having a long enough bellows for the longest lens you wish to use. A 30o mm or 12" lens needs 12" bellows to focus at infinity, but 16 or more to get decently close.<br>

A 180 will have the same coverage widthwise, but a little more height because format proportions are different, as a 50 mm lens on 35mm camera. </p>

<p>'</p>

<p> </p>

<p>Look closely on the auction site at the following (in no particular order)<br>

1. Calumet (400 series) or B&J (Orbit) monorail view cameras (spring backs only)<br>