Been offered free use of D700 for a rugged WV trip. Accept?

lahuasteca

<p>A co-worker is insisting I take his D700/14-24/24-70 on a trip to Blackwater Falls, WV for the weekend (I'm in the southern tip of Texas). It's free. The answer isn't as obvious as it would seem.<br>

My pack holds a D80/16-85 as the main camera, and an FE2, primes, plus film for backup. Thiand primes ng is, I sort of know what I'm doing with the D80, and really know with the FE2. The goal is fine art photography of the falls in Blackwater State Park, a lot of rugged hiking in the side canyons. <br>

I know the D700 and lenses has IQ far beyond that of my two antiquated cameras, but I've never used one before. It means a heavier backpack and tripod (would have to bring the Manfrotto instead of the Slik Sprint). The FE2 would stay behind, replaced by the D700.<br>

Besides the liability for a system that's not mine, would I be losing in IQ for not having experience with the system? I'm thinking of accepting, but not taking the 14-24. I can see waterfall spray getting all over that $2,000 lens.<br>

What would you do? I'm leaving in four days so have to decide quick.</p>

<p> </p>

<p>Frankly I neither lend nor borrow anything of dollar or sentimental value. Years ago, I lent on several occasions, three items (two were tools) over a period of a year all three items were ruined and no attempt was made to replace or even apologize. I'd feel terrible and obligated to make good on an item that I might borrow, that's why I don't go there! Borrowing an expensive camera for a trip is IMHO asking for trouble, ie you trip and fall, someone does a grab and run with the equipment. That's my two cents</p>

<p>It's always a risk to use unknown equipment on a project that counts - that's one part of the story. The other is - are you willing to replace the camera and/or lens(es) in case something does happen?<br>