amateur and not quite up to the photog lingo that sometimes my more

experienced friends surprise me with.

What do I need in terms of product (including what it is and what it

does) and perhaps even brand recommendations? I appreciate any help

you can give me in this regard.

Many thanks

Tommy

PS:

I forgot to mention that in my search for this topic I found out that the Vivitar 283 unit may be an option, although I found the bit about the connection a tad confusing (my shortcoming as a novice, I'm sure, not the posters' lack of clarity).

Very rarely do I use flash at all, but for those situations where it is matter of whether I get the image or not, I keep a small Honeywell flash that I paid a few bucks for several years ago. It is a bit larger than a pack of cigarettes and fits easily in one of the slots in my camera case. It provides enough light to get an acceptable image at a party or gathering where natural lighting isn't available. Other than that it has proven effective and reliable every time it has been called upon. It is best used on the Leica CTOOM flash bracket which reduces the red-eye problem. It will fit in the accessory shoe of most Leicas if a bracket isn't available. Of course if an auxiliary finder is in use, the off-camera mode is necessary.

First off, just so you're prepared and don't injure yourself when you fall down laughing, some of these blokes round here think it's some sort of religious heresy to mount a flash on a Leica.