Ball head or Pan tilt head for Bird photography?

jemini_joseph

Ball head or Pan tilt head for Bird photography?

I'm still learning why professionals use ball heads. I haven't seen

many

pro ball heads. Sorry if this is a stupid question.

For me I thought Pan tilt head is much safer. Here's the reason why

As far as I understand for ball heads there can be two locks.

One for pan(not all of them have it) and other one for all other

movements.

Here's my concern. If you losen the second lock (screw) the camera

can fall in any direction.So we've to hold on the camera.

This is OK for long lenses to tilt up and down. But don't

they can fall towards left or right too? If that happens

then there will be lots of pressure

on the camera's lens mount. Isn't that bad?

With pan head I leave the pan lever losen. So the lens can be

rotated.

Even if I take my hand off the tripod or camera is not going to

fall.

I also leave the tripod collar losen. So I can rotate the lens

to take vertical pictures. I don't have to losen vertical tilt

lever of the head. That's kind of permanent for me. I'll hold the

main tilt lever with left hand and losen or tighten as required

and use the force on the lever to rotate the long lens.

So there's will be no pressure on camera's lens mount.

This is my obeservation. Am I missing anything? I guess so. Otherwise

this many prfessionals won't use balls heads. Can anyone help me

about this?

Thanks

Jemini,

It would be very helpful if you could try out each type. Try renting one before you buy it (or borrow one from someone you know). The differences between the two types would be noticible very soon.

The advantage of a ball head is the ability to easily move the camera about and instantly lock it into position. I wrote a basic summary of the differences between pan & tilt heads, ball heads & gimbal type heads on my website (www.ozarkimages.com). Go to the Hints & Tips section and look at the page on Tripods.

Good luck.