Backing Up Your Work?

Discussion in 'Digital Darkroom' started by derek_thornton|1, Jul 17, 2014.

1. Since 2007 I have been backing up my work on External Hard Drive and DVD. At this point I have too many DVD's and considering using Hard Drives to back up Hard drives. Actually, the price of DVD's have gone up and they are slow as molasses, you get more GB's per dollar with the Hard Drive. Despite that I think the DVD would be less prone to failure.
    Is there anyone here backing up their Hard Drive with other Hard Drive. The last thing I want to do is lose info, but the DVD's are piling up! I would appreciate any input for or against this method.
    Derek

2. AJG

AJG

Derek, I feel your pain! I have continued to use DVDs as well as a RAID hard drive for backup, along with another separate set of hard drives for my images. Since I am a professional and people have a reasonable expectation that they can come back to me months or years later to get files, I feel that I have to make sure as best I can that files will be there and be useable when the need arises. So far, knock on wood, I haven't had any major back up failures that I couldn't cope with, and on a couple of occasions I have been grateful to have the DVD back up. Some people keep talking about the cloud, but the terabytes of images I have and the internet connection I can afford make that unrealistic.

3. david_henderson

david_henderson www.photography001.com

I'm not really sure quite what you mean here, but if you're asking whether anyone backs up information on their primary drive ( normally internal but sometimes external) onto another hard drive ( mostly external) the answer must be yes, zillions.
    Frankly at today's image sizes and at the rate at which some people photograph with a dslr, DVD's ccan't really be considered as a primary backup medium any more IMO.