Back-up gear for Events: D80/D90? and SB-600 vs. ?

Discussion in 'Wedding and Event' started by r._nelson, Dec 17, 2010.

1. Hi Everyone.
    I am slowly gathering gear to begin shooting events more regularly, and although I've shot a few events with just one body and flash, I fully believe in the necessity for carrying back-ups. I'm planning on wearing two bodies with different lenses, so I'll be using my backup rig, but I've never done that before, so if my plan doesn't work out than they'll truly be my "back-ups."
    BODY: I shoot a D90, and I am wondering if I should save a bit more money for another D90, or possibly make do with a D80. Either way I'd be using the same batteries, memory cards, and the similar navigation appeals to me. I realize the D80 does not perform as well in high-ISO situations vs. the D90, but I have read threads where D80s were used successfully in low light with a fast lens, or of course with flash. I would like a body with a motor. Thoughts?
    Flash: I own a SB-600. Should I buy a second? I am aware of the advantages of staying withing the Nikon CLS lighting environment, but I own two strobes, with no plans on integrating my on-camera flashes with my strobes. In the field I suspect I'll simply need to use either TTL and manual-mode flash settings. I'm I wrong about this assumption?
    1.) Could I (or should I) consider a 3rd.-party flash as my backup, and if so, what kind? The market seems flooded, so I value a knowledgeable recommendation in this area.
    2.) Am I missing the picture by not thinking about a more powerful flash overall, like the SB800/900 or 3rd.-party flash?
    Yes, money is a factor!
    Thanks,
    Randy

2. Way easier to use two of the same bodies. This way, if there is a problem, you don't have to stop and think about which body you have and the control differences. The SB800 is a good choice for a 1st and relagate your SB600 to the backup position.