B&W Developing chemical storage methods and times.

<p>Hi all<br>

Im new to film photography and i purchased some Developer fixer etc 12 months ago a havent had a chance to use them yet. they have been stored in a refrigerator, unopened.<br>

So i am wondering if they are still good or should i throw them out, and also what is the best way to store chemicals once they have been opened, i have been told to place marbles in the bottle to fill the bottle and remove air from the top, if this is done what storage times would be expected.<br>

Note: The chemicals i have are in liquid or pre-mixed not powder form.</p>

<p>Thankyou</p>

<p>Matt Richardson</p>

<p>What brand and type of developer, fixer, etc., specifically? Storage and shelf life varies depending on the type.</p>

<p>Generally speaking, fixer in undiluted liquid concentrate will last for many years in storage. Ilford rapid fixer (I usually use Hypam) diluted to working strength for film or prints lasts me for up to a year in storage, altho' in actual practice it becomes exhausted from routine use much sooner, usually within a few months.</p>

<p>Liquid concentrate developer shelf life varies. The manufacturers normally provide this information either on the label or on their websites. Ilfosol-S in an unopened container was good for something like 18-24 months. Rodinal and HC-110 may be good for many years in storage.</p>

<p>When in doubt, run a test roll of exposures and try for yourself. Part of the pleasure of b&w photography and the darkroom is personal experimentation and exploration.</p>

<p>Thanks Lex<br>

The Developer is Ilforsol 3 and the Fixer is Ilford Rapid fixer.<br>

The bottles are unopened and have been kept in a fridge the whole 12 months.<br>

On the topic of storing chemicals once open what is the best or general method, and am i correct about using marbles to fill space, hence removing air from the bottle and preventing oxidisation.</p>

<p>Thankyou</p>

<p>Matt Richardson</p>