Axioms or Conventions?

Discussion in 'Philosophy' started by jon w., Dec 1, 2003.

1. When I first began browsing on PN, I was curious to discover that many
    of the contributing photographers shared certain assumptions that I
    did not, possibly because my background is slightly different.
    Moreover, many of these assumptions are treated as axioms. I think it
    might be useful to consider whether these axioms really are
    unchallengeable, or whether they are just conventions. I’ll phrase
    some of the following as personal statements, because it’s easier that
    way, but I intend to initiate a general discussion. I should make it
    absolutely clear that I am NOT suggesting that anyone who disagrees
    with me is wrong or that my approach is better than that of anyone
    else. On the contrary, I think that disagreement on such matters cn be
    the source of unexpected insights. I also don't claim to live up to
    the more grandiose pronouncements.

1) I am not interested in being an artist. I don’t care if my images
    are art or not. What I would like to be is a critic – in the broad
    sense of ‘critically engaged’, not the narrow one of ‘someone who
    finds fault’.
    2) ‘Intelligent’ or ‘clever’ or ‘complex’ are for me much more
    complimentary adjectives than ‘beautiful’. I regard formal beauty as a
    means to an end, not the end itself, and ‘beautiful’ is not the same
    thing as ‘visually interesting’. In any case, great photographs
    themselves create the aesthetic criteria by which they should be
    judged. The career of Garry Winogrand is a good example of how this
    happens.
    3) I don’t care about making an emotional connection with my human
    subjects. I’m not interested in them as individuals at all (and I have
    Walker Evans on my side here). Similarly, I don’t want to use
    photography to express myself (or at least my emotions – and again,
    Walker Evans is on my side).