Average rates for Corporate Event Photography

annette_nel1

<p>I am an amateur photographer with aspirations of becoming professional, and was fortunate to be invited to photograph a company's corporate event. They liked my images enough to ask if I was willing to cover all their events across the Middle East. I am of course thrilled, but have no idea what to charge (the first event I covered for free as I felt it was a learning exercise for me). I would be required to travel to Qatar, Saudi and Kuwait (I live in Dubai), so besides the company paying for my travel and accommodation, I have no idea what I should charge. Should this be hourly, or event/project based, and how much? A dollar average would be perfect. I am only starting to build a portfolio now, so don't have much to show yet, and don't want to charge too much as this is a great opportunity for me. Any suggestions would be most welcome! Many thanks, Annette</p>

<p>Ok....<br>

Lets see. <br>

The list is simple: Travel Expenses and accommodation with food covered by them.<br>

Event rate: Based on the average of skilled work rates; base your rate accordingly plus,(possibly double) per event as a fixed price.<br>

And third. And this is the most important one..... In-force it and take it. and don't be afraid.<br>

It will seem like a lot, but don't settle for less. <br>

Best of luck, and don't forget, one is worth how is carried oneself. So act the part. Walk the talk.<br>

Is easy, go for it.</p>

<p>I've seen corporate event photography ranging from about $50 per hour to $350+ per hour. My rates range from $150 - $225 per hour, if that's any help.<br>

It's kind of meaningless to talk about an average rate though, as it will depend on your market and your skill level. I can tell you that it can be very hard work, require backup equipment, thinking on your feet and involve very difficult lighting conditions, and sometime difficult clients.<br>