Autofocus custom settings for D500 - basketball

craig_morton

<p>Hello,<br>

I have a very rare opportunity to shoot a Division 1 ACC men's basketball game this weekend. I am not a professional photojournalist, hence the rarity of this experience. On the contrary, I am a high school teacher by trade, but indulge my passion for photography by shooting local high school sports and submitting my work (pro bono) to a weekly newspaper in rural upstate New York.<br>

Long story shorter-- one of the student athletes from our school district eventually earned a starting role for Syracuse University. I parlayed my connections with his former school district and local newspaper into obtaining a "media credential" for two games at SU this season. My second game is coming up this weekend. <br>

I got my typical percentage of usable images from my first attempt at the Carrier Dome last November, but I want to up my "game" for this weekend. The light in this facility is brilliant, very unlike the usually high school dungeons I shoot in...So that is not my problem. <br>

Instead, I would like to hear from D500 sports photographers regarding the AF custom settings you typically use for basketball or other indoor sports. For example, AF- area mode, AF-C priority selection, Blocked shot AF- response, Subject Motion (a1, a3, a7 etc)<br>

I am moving up from a D300, and I'm feeling I am still shooting within the parameters of my old camera and have not even begun to harness the potential of the D500. Yes, there are tons of "user-generated" websites out there on the Internet (Youtube et al.)...so much so I could spend a dozen Sunday mornings trying to separate the wheat from the chaff....However, I don't have time for that.<br>

If any forum participants have any direct personal advice on D500 custom settings, or recommendations to 3rd party sources (books, ebooks, websites etc), I would be deeply appreciate it.<br>

A few more details:<br>