Auto focus on video cameras

Christal1664882414

<p>Hi folks, <br>

Knowing I'm a photographer, a friend asked me what I knew about video cameras. I'm afraid I don't know much, tho' eventually I'd like to do video. My friend asked me if auto focus was an important feature for a video camera (we're talking an actual Sony video camera....not video on a DSLR). I had no idea. But I have a hard time understanding how you can shoot video without auto focus. As you're taking moving pictures, wouldn't you NEED auto focus? I'm not sure how manual focus would work. I'm interested out of curiosity, but of course I'll pass along any answers to my friend as well. Thanks so much! BTW, the video camera is needed for shooting advertisement videos for a performing arts organization in town, and they need to be good quality.</p>